Symposium 1: Feb. 28 & Mar.1

Symposium 1: Material and Technical Innovation
Where is technology taking us and where are we taking technology?

Led by the trio of architects Nader Tehrani, Anton Garcia-Abrilis and Herbert Enns, the discussion will profile the advancement of innovations in design & construction materials, technologies and processes and their impact on architecture schools and construction projects around the world.

Featured Guest Presenters

Nader Tehrani – Head of MIT’s Department of Architecture and a Founding Partner of NADAAA, a practice dedicated to design innovation, researches the cultivation of new means and methods of methods of fabrication of the building industry. As the architect of three new architecture school facilities in Toronto, Atlanta, and Melbourne, Nader brings invaluable insight into the opportunity of the proposed new school of architecture.

Antón García-Abril – European PhD Architect, full-professor at the School of Architecture and Planning of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.). In 2000 he established ENSAMBLE STUDIO, and with his partner Debora Mesa, leads a cross-functional team researching and realizing new approaches to architectonic space, building technologies and urban strategies.

Herbert Enns – Professor, Department of Architecture, University of Manitoba. Professor Enns is the Founding Director, Experimental Media Research Group (EMRG) at the University of Manitoba. EMRG was approved by the University in October 2009 with the support of the Deans of Architecture, Arts, Engineering, Science, and Music, the Director of the School of Art, and the Section Head of Orthopedic Surgery.


PUBLIC LECTURE – open invitation
Presenter: Nader Tehrani
Date: Thursday, February 28, 2013
Time: 7:30-10:00pm
Location: Broadway Theatre, 715 Broadway Avenue

PANEL PRESENTATION – open invitation
Date: Friday, March 1, 2013
Time: 8:45-11:00am
Location: Convocation Hall, Peter MacKinnon Building

Sponsored by:


  1. Andrew Wallace wrote:

    A very big thank you to Victoria Yong-Hing, Robyn Robertson, Mark Sin, Brad Pickard, April Hiebert, of Open – the very talented and dedicated intern architects who have done such good work designing our symposium posters and this website. These recent graduates of architecture schools illustrate by the example of their own enthusiasm and ability why Saskatchewan needs an architecture school.

  2. [...] discussion leader at  ’Symposium 1: Material and Technical Innovation’ hosted by the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon, Canada on March 1, [...]